Main Menu

151013 Cubs

Tonight, 13th October, the Cub Pack visited the sand mines/ caves at Reigate.


The Tunnel Road cave was originally opened as mines in 1823 the tunnels were later used for storage of wines and beers but, and much to Akela’s disapointment, the great collection of mainly Victoria glass bottles are now empty!  During the second world war the caves were used as a public air raid shelter and one of the channels has been set aside for the reconstruction of what one would have looked like with sound affects to add to the whole experience.


We also came across some real life cave dwellers …………………… bats! As a result, the caves are now closed to visitors until these lovely mammals move house!


The Baron’s cave, located under the site of what was once Reigate Castle, dates back to about 1586 and was most likely a very large and extensive wine cellar! (Akela was most impressed!)


A really interesting evening and our thanks to the WEALDEN CAVE & MINE SOCIETY for opening up the caves for our meeting.  More information on the Society can be found on their web site at


P1240685 P1240660 P1240661 P1240663 P1240664 P1240665 P1240666 P1240667 P1240668 P1240669 P1240670 P1240671 P1240672 P1240673 P1240674 P1240675 P1240676 P1240677 P1240678 P1240679 P1240680 P1240681 P1240682 P1240683 P1240684 P1240656 P1240657 P1240658 P1240659 P1240699 P1240697 P1240696 P1240695 P1240694 P1240687 P1240688 P1240689 P1240690 P1240691 P1240692 P1240693 P1240686